William “Buckey” O’Neill constructed his cabin in 1890 in the area now known as Grand Canyon National Park. Buckey was an author, sheriff, a judge and an associate of Theodore Roosevelt’s Rough Riders. He was a contributory of the Grand Canyon Railroad and died while fighting in Cuba in 1898.
He cabin stands as the first surviving building on the canyon’s south rim. In the 1890’s, the cabin was used as an office for tourist housings at the Grand Canyon. It later became part of the Bright Angel Lodge (next post) in 1935.