Casa Grande’s Lost Places
During Arizona’s mining surge in 1879, the town of Casa Grande was founded and named after the Hohokam ruins. It wasn’t until 1915 that Casa Grande became incorporated. Many of the places around town were named after one of the founding fathers, Thompson Rodney Peart, (Peart Road, Park and Center). A major railroad terminated in town and earned the name, “Terminus”. Casa Grande was mostly a farm town, but can boast the first exhibition baseball game in 1961. Willie Mays hit a 375 foot home run on that field. All that remains today of the past ballgames is the pool in the shape of a baseball bat and ball.