Tombstone's Historic Courthouse
HistoryIn 1877, Ed Schieffelin discovered silver minerals in southeastern Arizona and shortly afterwards he founded Tombstone. This mining town grew quickly from all the people who were looking to become wealthy. To get justice, the lawmen had to travel 70 miles to Tucson which usually took two long days. In 1881, by popular vote, the Territory of Pima County was divided and a new county, Cochise County, was developed. The following year a courthouse was constructed in Tombstone and occupied all the county’s offices.
In 1929, the county seat was moved to the fast growing town of Bisbee. The last of the offices stayed open until 1931 where the courthouse remained empty until 1955. The building was to be remodeled and become a hotel in the 1940’s, but that never happened. In 1959, the courthouse was restored to its original luster and now stands as a historical museum. Inside its walls are numerous exhibits and artifacts from Tombstone’s lively history. In 1972, the courthouse was put on the National Register of Historic Places list.